The Nobel Prize 2021

By Editor 5min October 9, 2021

Nobel Prize is one of the most highly recognized prizes awarded every to individuals, institutes, or organizations for their outstanding performance. This started when; Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament on 27 November 1895. He gave the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Physiology/Medicine, Literature, and Peace. This series of prizes was named after him as the Nobel Prize and started in 1901. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank introduced The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in the field of Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. Since 1901 about 972 Nobel Prize laureates are awarded to date.

The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was held in Oslo on 8th October 2021 and announced by the Norwegian Nobel Committee. There was a total of 329 candidates nominated in 2021out of which 234 were individuals and 95 were organizations. This year 10 candidates were awarded Nobel Prizes in different fields. All the awarded candidates served us with great initiative and inventions. So, let’s take the overview on the winners:

Nobel Peace Prize

This year The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded jointly to two journalists Ms. Maria Ressa and Mr. Dmitry Andreyevich Muratov for their efforts to safeguard “freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace”.


This year two Nobel Prizes in Physics were awarded, to three physicists. The first share was given jointly to Mr. Syukuro Manabe and Mr. Klaus Hasselmann for “the physical modeling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming”. Syukuro Manabe is from Japan and is associated with Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA. Mr. Klaus Hasselmann is from Germany and associated with Max Planck institute. They both worked together and bagged the award.

The second share was awarded to Mr. Giorgio Parisi for “the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales”. Mr. Giorgio Parisi is from Italy and is currently associated with the Sapienza University of Rome, Rome, Italy.


This year the Nobel Prize in Chemistry was jointly awarded to Mr. Benjamin List and Mr. David W.C. MacMillan “for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis”. Mr. David W.C. MacMillan is from the United Kingdom and associated with Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA. Mr. Benjamin List is from Germany and associated with Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim an der Ruhr, Germany. They both worked together and bagged the award.


This year the Nobel Prize in Medicine/physiology was jointly awarded to Mr. David Julius and Mr. Ardem Patapoutian “for their discoveries of receptors for temperature and touch”. Mr. David Julius is from the United States of America and is associated with the University of California, San Francisco, CA, USA. Mr. Ardem Patapoutian is from Lebanon and associated with Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Scripps Research, La Jolla, CA, USA. Their collaborative effort led to new discoveries and made them bag the award.


This year the Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Mr. Abdulrazak Gurnah ” for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents”. Mr. Abdulrazak Gurnah is from Zanzibar and currently residing in England. He is the only one to receive the prestigious award individually.

The Nobel prize laureates are inspirations to everyone for trying and providing the best of the best solution to mankind. We also congratulated all the participating candidates for their outstanding work in their respective fields.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *